top of page

Announcement of IPA Award Winners 2022

Dear Fellow Paleolimnologists,

We are delighted to announce the International Paleolimnology Association (IPA) award winners for 2022. These awards will be presented at the IAL-IPA Symposium which will be held in Bariloche, Argentina from 27 Nov to 2 Dec 2022.

At the meeting, IPA will be presenting five IPA Rick Battarbee Lifetime Achievement Awards. The winners, in alphabetical order, are:

Mark Brenner

Steve Juggins

Anson Mackay

Nora I. Maidana

John Smol

IPA will also be presenting two IPA Outstanding Service Awards:

Melanie Riedinger-Whitmore

Barbara Wohlfarth

Finally, IPA will presenting two IPA Early Career Researcher Awards:

Simon Belle (Swedish University of Agricultural Sciences, Sweden)

Kathryn Hargan (Memorial University of Newfoundland, Canada).

We would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all of our award winners. We look forward to seeing many of you in Bariloche for the awards ceremony.

Best wishes

Helen and Fernanda


bottom of page