# Minutes for the International Paleolimnology Association (IPA) Business Meeting December 18, 2009 Guadalajara Hilton Hotel; Guadalajara, Mexico

Rick Battarbee (RWB), Chair of the IPA, called the meeting to order at 5:20PM (Central Time).

## Chair's Report

RWB provided the Chair's report, summarizing the history of the IPA and the IPA's role in fostering the paleolimnology meetings, and other activities.

RWB formally thanked Dr. Tom Whitmore (University of South Florida) for his service to the paleolimnological community by coordinating the *Paleolimnology Forum* list service system, as well as his role now as co-editor of the *Journal of Paleolimnology* (*JOPL*).

RWB thanked John Glew (Queen's University) for developing the IPA logo, and Mike Hughes (London) for his work on the web site.

RWB reviewed the role of the IPA's International Advisory Committee, which was named 1.5 year's ago, but whose roles (mainly to advise the IPA Executive) only come into effect at this meeting. The committee will be called upon to assist the executive board in its various functions.

RWB thanked Springer publishers, and especially Ms Tamara Welschot (our main publishing contact at Springer for *JOPL* and for the *DPER* book series) for her support in developing the Springer student prizes for the best poster and oral presentation at the IPA meetings. Ms Welschot indicated Springer's intention to carry on sponsoring the prizes at future meetings.

RWB also reviewed the history and development of the IPA Lifetime Achievement Awards (that were first presented on the evening of Dec 19 to Herb Wright, Daniel Livingstone, Walt Dean and Frank Oldfield).

RWB reviewed the role of the IPA in helping to make decisions regarding this symposium, and its need for a changing the timing from June 2009 to December 2009 due to the swine flu epidemic.

RWB reviewed some of the discussions that occurred with the IPA Executive meeting, which was held earlier that week (evening of December 14). The issue of raising fees from the IPA was discussed to help defray costs associated with, for example, the Lifetime Achievement Awards, the website upkeep, and related expenses. It was decided that the best mechanisms for creating a fund of money for these and other requirements would be best achieved by charging an extra ca \$50-\$100 (US) to each registration fee

for International Paleolimnology Symposia (IPS) in the future, and thus use these funds to pay for these expenses. Possible future venues were also discussed, and RWB informed the audience that an offer for the 2012 IPS would be made later in this meeting for a venue based in Glasgow. However, RWB encouraged the audience to begin thinking about venues for 2015 and 2018 and beyond.

## **Springer Student Prizes**

At 5:45, Springer Student Prizes were announced by Dr Carl Sayer (University College London) who replaced Dr. Jennie Fluin (University of Adelaide, IPA Executive Board member) who had to return home on an earlier flight, to announce the student prizes. Dr Sayer commented on the very high quality of the student presentations and the difficult job of choosing winners. The selection committee (approximately 10 people were approached to serve on the committee) was chosen by Dr Fluin to reflect a breadth of expertise.

For the best student poster presentation, Dr Sayer recorded that 3 individuals were selected for honorary mention due to the quality of their presentations: Katie Griffiths Sanna Korkonen and Juliane Wischnewski. The winner was Alexandra Rouillard

For the best oral presentation, honorary mention was made of the presentations by Jesse Vermaire, Mary Beth Day, and Nick Felstead. The winner was Frederike Verbruggen.

The Chair, Rick Battarbee, presented both winners with Springer book vouchers for \$250.00.

### JOPL Editors' Report

At 5: 50 PM Dr Mark Brenner (MB), University of Florida at Gainesville, and current coeditor of *JOPL*, gave his Editor's Report.

MB noted that co-editor Tom Whitmore could not make the meeting. He acknowledged the important work Dr Whitmore was doing for the journal.

MB noted the continued increases in submissions to *JOPL* and the problems with over-extending page budgets. He summarized the new guidelines for authors, now restricting regular contributions to 15 pages or less (published pages) and a maximum of 60 references per paper. He noted the Impact Factor remained very good for the journal. He also acknowledged the new roles played by the associate editors, and the work done by Andrew Henderson as the Book Reviews Editor.

MB also thanks the authors and reviewers for their work.

Amendments to the IPA Constitution and Election of New Executive Board Members

At 6 pm, RWB noted that there was a suggestion for an amendment to the IPA constitution, by expanding the Executive Committee by one member with the addition of a Vice Chair. RWB proposed the motion:

"that the constitution be amended to allow the addition of a Vice Chair to the board by election.. The Vice Chair will not necessarily become the next chair."

The motion was passed unanimously. The first election will take place at the 2012 meeting

In addition, RWB informed the meeting that the assembly needed to elect a new member to the Executive Board, as Jennie Fluin's term as the young scientist representative on the board had expired. Three nominees were presented to the assembly:

Louise Newman (proposed by Reinhard Pienitz, seconded John Smol). Juliane Wischnewski (proposed by Bernhard Diekmann, seconded by Helen Bennion) Keely Mill (proposed by Mike Reid, seconded by Andrew Henderson)

John Smol, Berhard Diekmann, and Mike Reid each spoke briefly about their nominee for this position.

Following a secret ballot, Dr. Louise Newman was elected to the IPA board.

In addition, John Smol and Mark Brenner nominated Rick Battarbee to serve a second three-year term as Chair of IPA. RWB stood unopposed. He was acclaimed by the assembly for this post.

RWB acknowledged John Smol's 21 year service as founding editor of the *Journal of Paleolimnology*. The assembly showed their appreciation of John's service to the community by prolonged applause.

#### Venue for the 2012 IPS

At 6:10 pm, Drs Helen Bennion and Andrew Henderson made a presentation offering Glasgow, Scotland as a venue for the 2012 IPA meeting. They suggested the timing of the meeting would likely be Aug 7-10th, 2012.

No other invitation was made. Glasgow was happily accepted by the assembly.

#### **Other Business**

At 6:25 pm RWB thanked everyone for attending the IPS, and noted how extremely smoothly the meeting was run. He thanked Dr. Margarita Caballero for all her work, especially in light of the difficulties following the postponement of the meeting, and he

acknowledged the excellent work of her team from UNAM and the University of Guadalajara.

Dr Dan Engstrom formally thanked Dr Caballero and her team on behalf of the IPA for an excellent meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 6:30 pm.